The Great Game: Screenies of the Final War

Ok, so I changed all the Chinese redeployments to target Beijing, except for the ones that were going to Karachi; I assume those were intentional?

Screenies, in response to many requests. Honestly, though, they’re not that exciting – we’re just at the start of the war, there’s not that much going on.

Let’s start with the most critical front: The Baltic! The Belgians have driven me back into Denmark (well helped by that damnable 125% bonus) but are pretty well stopped by the water; they’re launching an offensive into Poland. (At least that’s what the AI does when I play this out.) This is going to be the decisive front for the foreseeable future; if the Belgians get into Sweden, or take over a lot of the industrial heart of Poland and make that stick, it’s all over but the dying. Then again, I’ve got these nice nukes and I know where their reactor is from having sat right next to it before the last time they surrendered. Let’s see them drive for Moscow with mushroom clouds springing up wherever they concentrate troops!

Note the pocket in Frankfurt containing about a million Polish troops; being allied to the Belgians at the time of the Belgian attack, they were left behind, and are now about to regret it. (The AI usually wipes them out in a week or so.) The reason the Belgians are occupying parts of Poland is that I occupied them first, being at war with Poland, then the Belgians got there, and now the Poles are switching sides again so they won’t get those areas back short of marching tanks through them. Complicated international dynamics for the win!

Baltic 1949

Another important front, Siberia. But right now there’s just not very much happening here! The nukes are all over; you can see the huge hole where there ought to be roughly sixty Norwegian divisions, but that’s it. On the other hand there’s still not a Chinese in sight! Strategically, this front is pretty safe for me; I can win big by marching to Beijing, but there’s no way for me to lose quickly. China could wipe out all my divisions tomorrow and it would still be the summer of 1950 before they saw the Urals; by then things will be settled in Europe anyway.

Siberia 1949

The Balkans. Making any progress on this front is pretty tough, what with the mountains and the excellent Skarion line, and anyway the only thing worth fighting for here is the oil in Rumania. It is probably not possible to either win or lose the war on this front, although a big defeat could make the position worse.

Balkans 1949

South America. There’s not much to say about this. I’ll lose whenever Spain gets its divisions together; heck, even the AI beats me. Not that I care, Brazil is about the lowest imaginable priority for me at this point. I’m basically just moving my divisions around at random to tie up a couple of Spanish ones for as long as I can.

South America 1949

The Middle East. An important front, possibly a decisive one what with all that oil (at least if the war drags out – if I lose in the Baltic, oil won’t matter), but a difficult one to make any progress in due to the terrain and the bad infrastructure. Neither side has much deployed here right now, but the terrain slows any offensive.

Middle East 1949

Europe. The Belgian colossus doesn’t look like so much at this scale, but that burgundy blob includes half the industry of Europe. It’s big! It’s burgundy! It’s a blob! BBB is watching you!

Europe 1949

Asia. Kazakhstan switched sides, which is a great pity; in SP, I’ve gained a very large degree of respect for the fighting qualities of the Cossacks, at least in defense of their homes. They could have joined me for the sack of Beijing. Instead, I will build a mountain of skulls in Alma-Ata. Such is life, such is war.

Asia 1949

Leave a comment

Filed under Great Game

Leave a Reply

